Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Postby kartoFlane » Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:29 pm

No, by "2000px in size" I meant 2000x2000, not square pixels :P
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
NarnKar
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: this forum
Contact:

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Postby NarnKar » Fri Aug 01, 2014 5:02 pm

kartoFlane wrote:No, by "2000px in size" I meant 2000x2000, not square pixels :P


Ah, sorry, my bad. I'm still new to this whole "being a sprite artist" thing...
User avatar
NarnKar
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: this forum
Contact:

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Postby NarnKar » Sat Aug 02, 2014 8:35 pm

How do you get the thruster glows on your ship hulls?
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Postby kartoFlane » Sat Aug 02, 2014 9:03 pm

You can't, the engine thrusters are hardcoded to appear for the Kestrel and Federation ships :(
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
Konz
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 3:02 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Postby Konz » Fri Aug 08, 2014 3:08 pm

Hey,

I am new to this forum, sorry if this is the wrong thread.
I would like to create a HUD mod and for that I would like to change the colour of the energy bars for the system power and the hull health, but I can't find the file I have to modify for that.
If anybody could help me that would be nice. :)
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Postby kartoFlane » Fri Aug 08, 2014 4:07 pm

I'm afraid these can't be really changed -- if I recall correctly, the system power bars are drawn programmatically, without using an image resource. The health indicator can be given a different shape, but its coloration/tint is hardcoded as well :(

Either way, the health indicator mask is located at img/statusUI/top_hull_bar_mask.png in the unpacked archives.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
Konz
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 3:02 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Postby Konz » Sun Aug 10, 2014 3:07 am

Hey kartoFlane,
thanks for your reply. :)

I was able to get a different colour by changing the mask colour, I will see if that will work. :)

Mask:
top_hull_bar_mask.png


Ingame:
hull-ingame.png
dalolorn
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:06 am
Location: R.S. Dominator

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Postby dalolorn » Sun Aug 10, 2014 10:19 am

Konz wrote:Hey kartoFlane,
thanks for your reply. :)

I was able to get a different colour by changing the mask colour, I will see if that will work. :)

Mask:
top_hull_bar_mask.png


Ingame:
hull-ingame.png


Yes, this would account for the fact that something someone made a while back (custom hull bars or something) was yellow instead of green.
User avatar
NarnKar
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: this forum
Contact:

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Postby NarnKar » Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:17 pm

I tried making a freeze-ray weapon, by putting lockdown on the beam. But when I tested it, it only did standard damage, without doing any lockdowns...

Is there anything wrong with my code, or is putting lockdown on beams impossible?

Here's my code, for reference's sake.

animations.xml.append

Code: Select all

<animSheet name="FREEZERAY" w="264" h="140" fw="33" fh="140">weapons/freezeray_strip8.png</animSheet>
<weaponAnim name="FREEZERAY">
   <sheet>FREEZERAY</sheet>
   <desc length="8" x="0" y="0" />
   <chargedFrame>5</chargedFrame>
   <fireFrame>6</fireFrame>
   <firePoint x="16" y="48" />
   <mountPoint x="4" y="111" />
   <chargeImage>weapons/freezeray_glow.png</chargeImage>
</weaponAnim>


blueprints.xml.append

Code: Select all

<weaponBlueprint name="FREEZERAY">
   <type>BEAM</type>
   <tip>tip_beams</tip>
   <title>Freeze Ray</title>
   <short>Freeze Ray</short>
   <desc>A freeze ray that can lock down entire ships. Water shorts out systems, but does no hull damage. Pierces all shields, including Zoltan shields.</desc>
   <tooltip>Lockdown beam.</tooltip>
   <damage>0</damage>
   <sysDamage>1</sysDamage>
   <sp>5</sp>
   <fireChance>0</fireChance>
   <breachChance>0</breachChance>
   <lockdown>1</lockdown>
   <speed>13</speed>
   <cooldown>16</cooldown>
   <color>
      <r>176</r>
      <g>224</g>
      <b>230</b>
   </color>
   <power>3</power>
   <cost>100</cost>
   <bp>5</bp>
   <rarity>0</rarity>
   <image>beam_contact</image>
   <length>170</length>
   <launchSounds>
      <sound>beam1</sound>
      <sound>beam1_2</sound>
   </launchSounds>
   <weaponArt>FREEZERAY</weaponArt>
   <iconImage>beam</iconImage>
</weaponBlueprint>
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Postby kartoFlane » Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:58 pm

Generally beams seem to be handled differently than other weapons (or they're simply not coded to apply a modifier, like lockdown). So I guess you've just hit one of those hardcoded walls here.
Your code seems fine, though you could verify whether this works by just slapping the <lockdown> tag on a minibeam and trying it out *shrug*
But I'm fairly certain that lockdown just doesn't work on beams, similarily how negative crew damage doesn't.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 54 guests