Tutorial Jump Bug?

Discuss problems related to FTL here. If you are having a problem or experiencing a bug PLEASE READ THE "MUST READ" POST.
cherbert
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:50 pm

Tutorial Jump Bug?

Postby cherbert » Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:52 pm

Just bought from GOG.com and trying to get through the tutorial. And the point of my first jump the map comes up but all I see is a green exit on the map and nothing is clickable.

Help! Can't move on from this point - Can't ESCAPE can't do anything except close the application forceably.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Tutorial Jump Bug?

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:56 pm

Sorry, it sounds like you're experiencing a relatively rare problem with ATI's Catalyst 12.8 drivers. You can see this post on GetSatisfaction.com about it: https://getsatisfaction.com/ftlgame/top ... beacon_map

The TL;DR is that the 12.8 drivers can cause the stencil buffer to fail, resulting in some unwanted graphical glitches like your invisible map. Try uninstalling your drivers and reinstalling the most up to date version. Helpful links for how to do that are below. If that doesn't work, you might have to rollback (or install) a previous driver version which has fixed the issue for some people.

Helpful links:

Uninstall drivers: http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/...

Reinstall/update drivers for Windows 7:
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/...

Reinstall//update drivers for Windows Vista:
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/...

Reinstall/update drivers for Windows XP:
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/...
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Tutorial Jump Bug?

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:57 pm

On the off chance you don't have an ATI card with those drivers, please ignore all of that and tell me your system specs :)
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
cherbert
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Tutorial Jump Bug?

Postby cherbert » Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:04 pm

Yes I am using ATI 12.8.

I'm not messing about rolling back. This is clearly affecting a lot of people and I'm just gonna wait until either you or AMD fix this.

Rolling back Video Drivers for a brand new game isn't something I want to get into the habit of. I'll just be patient and wait.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Tutorial Jump Bug?

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:11 pm

Rolling back was the secondary option. At least give uninstalling/reinstalling a shot. It's fixed it for some people.
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Tutorial Jump Bug?

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:12 pm

And I apologize again for the problem :( it's pretty frustrating for me as well.
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
cherbert
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Tutorial Jump Bug?

Postby cherbert » Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:27 pm

zasdarq wrote:And I apologize again for the problem :( it's pretty frustrating for me as well.


Yes that worked.

1) I did an Express Uninstall of the AMD Catalyst Software.

2) Rebooted

3) I then downloaded it again and re-installed.

4) Reboot wasn't requested and FTL still had bug.

5) Rebooted Again anyway!

6) Bug was gone!


Using ATI 12.8 Drivers for HD 6xxx Series.
Running Windows 8 Final x64
Last edited by cherbert on Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Tutorial Jump Bug?

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:35 pm

Great! Glad it worked out.
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Tutorial Jump Bug?

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:09 pm

Someone was kind enough to email a potential fix to me. If the OP or anyone else has this problem crop up again check it out and let me know if it works for you too:

From within the Catalyst Control Center you can change the Anti-Aliasing filter settings to fix the problem. Create an application profile for FTL and make sure the filter is set to "standard." Screenshot included showing the incorrect setting of "edge-detect" that causes the problem:

http://imgur.com/1gXXs

(Thanks Jakob)
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
Bernd
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:03 pm

Re: Tutorial Jump Bug?

Postby Bernd » Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:14 pm

Seems like this is also a possbile solution to my "unreadable text" problem; before posting I had only checked the error posts dealing with graphical problems in their titles... the Catalyst Control Center will require an uninstall/re-install anyway, with the newer ATI drivers I often have the problem that CCC won't install properly. 12.8 is one of these cases, sigh...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests