Can't manage The Osprey

All your guides, strategy discussions, request for help on how to play go here. Please use [SPOILER] if relevant.
Big Boss

Can't manage The Osprey

Postby Big Boss » Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm

Hey everyone, it's my first topic here :P . I'm fairly new to the game, i've just defeated the Flagship once, with the Engi ship A (The Torus) , i beat it on easy. On normal i barely made it to the sector previous to The Last Stand.
I equipped The Torus (named it Spacejam :D) with the default Ion blaster, Halberd beam, Ion bombs and 2 Anti-ship drones mark 1 and a System-repair hull. As for augmentations i used: Drone recovery arm and the Scrap recovery arm (Not sure if that's the right name) as well as the Shield booster. I got max shields, cloak and drive and a tripulation of 6, i didn't lose any member until the Last Stand. It went off perfectly, however, when i use The Osprey i can't snowball enough and after a few sectors i'm taking continuous hull damage and a lot of fires.
I'm not good with a warship such as this, and i found the Artillery beam quite sluggish. Any tips/strategies??. Nothing too precise as the game is based off random events, just about upgrades or viable ways to handle it :)

Thanks for your time :lol:
5thHorseman

Re: Can't manage The Osprey

Postby 5thHorseman » Sun Dec 01, 2013 8:31 pm

I give the same advice to anybody asking for general help, and it applies here. See below for that.

One thing about the Osprey, though, that beam is TERRIBLE at level 1. At level 2 it's pretty meh and at level 3 it's okay. But at level 4 it's AMAZING. Granted, it's expensive to get it there but it should be a priority whenever you have spare scrap instead of buying anything that could be considered a luxury.