How to screen record

Talk about anything non-FTL related here.
User avatar
Stormbringer
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:53 am
Location: The Eagle
Contact:

How to screen record

Postby Stormbringer » Sun May 29, 2016 10:41 am

does anyone have or know any good apps to record screen?
Image
killin' slugs and beating Rebels since 2014, modding the game since 2016
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3627
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: How to screen record

Postby stylesrj » Sun May 29, 2016 11:52 am

Stormbringer wrote:does anyone have or know any good apps to record screen?


I use FRAPS but that costs money if you want to remove the watermark and have more recording options. It also uses up a lot of space. Like 20 GB for an hour-long video (and this is on half-size screen and 30 frames). So you gotta convert it via Windows Movie Maker or something if you want to make it Youtube worthy or not destroy your computer.

Open Broadcast Software might be a good choice though. It's free and can record screens, not just games.
User avatar
Stormbringer
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:53 am
Location: The Eagle
Contact:

Re: How to screen record

Postby Stormbringer » Sun May 29, 2016 11:54 am

stylesrj wrote:
Stormbringer wrote:does anyone have or know any good apps to record screen?


I use FRAPS but that costs money if you want to remove the watermark and have more recording options. It also uses up a lot of space. Like 20 GB for an hour-long video (and this is on half-size screen and 30 frames). So you gotta convert it via Windows Movie Maker or something if you want to make it Youtube worthy or not destroy your computer.

Open Broadcast Software might be a good choice though. It's free and can record screens, not just games.


Wow... Styles... do you just like helping or do you like helping noobs who just entered the modding community? You've helped me the most in my short FTL forum life.
Image
killin' slugs and beating Rebels since 2014, modding the game since 2016
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3627
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: How to screen record

Postby stylesrj » Sun May 29, 2016 12:20 pm

It's mostly a combination of being bored, seeing green text everywhere and well yeah I like helping.
I had to find out a lot of FTL stuff through experience and looking at other people's work.
I'm fast-tracking you :P
User avatar
Stormbringer
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:53 am
Location: The Eagle
Contact:

Re: How to screen record

Postby Stormbringer » Mon May 30, 2016 7:46 am

stylesrj wrote:It's mostly a combination of being bored, seeing green text everywhere and well yeah I like helping.
I had to find out a lot of FTL stuff through experience and looking at other people's work.
I'm fast-tracking you :P

kk
Image
killin' slugs and beating Rebels since 2014, modding the game since 2016
User avatar
jeffcard
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 8:42 am

Re: How to screen record

Postby jeffcard » Thu Oct 20, 2016 8:45 am

I always use acethinker screen recorder to record my computer screen, works like a charm. It's a web-based application, you don't have to download or install anything. And it's totally free. Hope it helps.
http://acethinker.com/free-screen-recorder/
Last edited by jeffcard on Fri Nov 18, 2016 8:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
CAKE
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 12:20 pm
Location: my chair in front of my PC, in my bedroom

Re: How to screen record

Postby CAKE » Thu Oct 20, 2016 11:58 pm

Open Broadcaster Software, it's free, however, it is somewhat laggy for some games.
If you want to ask/tell me something and get a timely response, read this paste: https://pastebin.com/LXcq186T

Mod hub for some of my old mods (which will not be supported anymore) here

A Guide On How To Combine 2 Ships Into 1 File
VernaShield
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 11:26 am

Re: How to screen record

Postby VernaShield » Sat Nov 04, 2017 11:27 am

I use FRAPS but that costs money if you want to remove the watermark and have more recording options. It also uses up a lot of space. Like 20 GB for an hour-long video (and this is on half-size screen and 30 frames). So you gotta convert it via Windows Movie Maker or something if you want to make it Youtube worthy or not destroy your computer.
Vernon
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 10:22 am

Re: How to screen record

Postby Vernon » Mon Dec 25, 2017 10:26 am

VernaShield wrote:I use FRAPS but that costs money if you want to remove the watermark and have more recording options. It also uses up a lot of space. Like 20 GB for an hour-long video (and this is on half-size screen and 30 frames). So you gotta convert it via Windows Movie Maker or something if you want to make it Youtube worthy or not destroy your computer.


There's a way to cut out the watermark and video.
Jwai
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:49 am

Re: How to screen record

Postby Jwai » Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:57 am

Personally, I can recommend Action! game recording software - it's intuitive, so if you haven't used any screen recorders before, you won't have much trouble in setting up this recorder.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests