Page 1 of 1

mod in development

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 3:38 am
by dimensional wizard
hey guys & gals hope your having a good week. i have a concept for a mod that i would appreciate some help on. i want to create a ship that limits the player to 8 systems total. to do this i was planning on having systems replace each other upon a players purchase from a store the same way the medbay is replaced by a colon bay. unfortunately I'm unable to create a code that slipstream will except. here's with i came up with so far

Code: Select all

                                                     
                                                      </slot>
if (<battery power="1" room="1" start="true" img="room_battery_2">)
{<artillery power="1" room="1" start="false"
<doors power="1" room="1" start="false" img="room_doors_4">
<sensors power="1" room="1" start="false" img="room_sensors_6">}
                                                      <slot>

                                                      </slot>
if (<doors power="1" room="1" start="true" img="room_doors_4">)
{<artillery power="1" room="1" start="false"
<battery power="1" room="1" start="false" img="room_battery_2" />
 <sensors power="1" room="1" start="false" img="room_sensors_6">}
                                                       <slot>

                                                       </slot>
if (<sensors power="1" room="1" start="true" img="room_sensors_6">)
{<artillery power="1" room="1" start="false"
<battery power="1" room="1" start="false" img="room_battery_2" />
<doors power="1" room="1" start="false" img="room_doors_4">}                                           
                                                       </slot>

                                                       </slot>
if (<drones power="1" room="6" start="true" img="room_drones_14" >)
{<hacking power="1" room="6" start="false" img="room_hacking_7" />
<mind power="1" room="6" start="false" img="room_mind_2" />}


if (<hacking power="1" room="6" start="true" img="room_hacking_7">)
{<drones power="1" room="6" start="false" img="room_drones_14" />
<mind power="1" room="6" start="false" img="room_mind_2" />}


if (<mind power="1" room="6" start="true" img="room_mind_2" >)
{<drones power="1" room="6" start="false" img="room_drones_14" />
<hacking power="1" room="6" start="false" img="room_hacking_7" />}
                                                        <slot>

im very new to c++ and coding in general so this probably is straight garbage. i would appreciate any feed back and thank you

Re: mod in development

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:22 am
by Jumbocarrot0
Yeah, you have greatly misunderstood FTL modding.
There is not proper programming in FTL modding, it simply involves editing the data stored externally, mostly XML data. So really, we can just expand or change that data, we can't change how the game works (unless you're the guys at Hyperspace, in which they use black magic voodoo wizardry to achieve their modding.)
If you want a better understanding on how mods work, I suggest download a mod (preferably a big one like Captains Edition or Multiverse) and look at the contents of it (an ftl file is just a renamed zip file fyi). There's also a fair amount of guides you can find on the modding compendium that'll help.

Re: mod in development

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:05 am
by dimensional wizard
thank you for the replay. i feel dumb but hey i learned something so that's good. I've been messing with superliminal and completed my first ship. Now im running test before im post it. by the way you wouldn't happen to know how to do that?

Re: mod in development

Posted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 8:52 am
by Jumbocarrot0
Test your mod or upload it?
To test your mod, go to the file tab and save it, then drop it into slipstream like any other mod.
To make a post about your mod, its nothing more than just posting a download link and describing it. A picture would also be nice.