[MOD][WIP] FTL Infinite Space

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
mcg
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 4:08 am

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL Infinite Space

Postby mcg » Sun May 19, 2013 4:26 am

mcg wrote:I didn't see this in your original post as far as "technical issues" go, but as soon as I pick my ship and try to start a new game with this mod, FTL just exits with no explanation. Just quits out. I am running no other mods, just using GMM 1.7.

FTL version is 1.03.3.

I tried Infinite Space version 0.44 with and without hi-res textures and test version 0.5 from sourceforge. All have the same behavior.


Managed to get it running once. I had to manually copy the .dat.bak files from my GMM/backup folder into FTL's resources and restore them to full original (even though I told GMM to apply no mods, then told it to apply only IS 0.44). Once I did that, I was able to use 0.44 with no textures and it would actually start the mission.
mcg
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 4:08 am

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL Infinite Space

Postby mcg » Sun May 19, 2013 4:50 am

mcg wrote:Managed to get it running once. I had to manually copy the .dat.bak files from my GMM/backup folder into FTL's resources and restore them to full original (even though I told GMM to apply no mods, then told it to apply only IS 0.44). Once I did that, I was able to use 0.44 with no textures and it would actually start the mission.


Tried this method with the IS 0.44 with texture and the IS 0.5 and both failed as originally described (drops as soon as you start the mission). Also tried patching vanilla with 0.44 and a single custom ship mod that I know works on its own - same result - crash to desktop.

Seems like the only way to use this is entirely by itself, with fresh "vanilla" resources and without the textures.
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1482
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL Infinite Space

Postby kartoFlane » Sun May 19, 2013 11:22 am

FTL version is 1.03.3.

Most likely reason for the crashes.
Revert to 1.03.1 if you can, most mods won't work on the newest version yet.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
966socho
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 9:11 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL Infinite Space

Postby 966socho » Wed May 22, 2013 1:13 pm

XepherTim wrote:Are you still able to acquire the Crystal Ship when using this mod?


Nope. Custom events means you will never encounter the ship unlock quests.
DrkTemplar
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:24 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL Infinite Space

Postby DrkTemplar » Thu May 23, 2013 4:38 pm

Correct, the ship unlock quests are not used in Infinite Space. I had plans to add them back in, but haven't even had time to go back and fix some of the issues reported for the mod. It looks like I will also need to update it for the latest FTL version.
dgaforgtfo
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 6:17 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL Infinite Space

Postby dgaforgtfo » Sun May 26, 2013 10:50 pm

I'm having a really odd problem with this mod, every time I start it the loading bar says "Decent Into Darkness" and I can only start the game with the DID Athena ship but without any of the dialogue for it. However, on the actual start menu it says infinite space. I played DID for a bit and then unpatched it and played the regular game, now I've patched in Infinite Space by itself and I can play it but only with a SEVERELY weakened DID ship. This happens for both the normal and the high res versions available here. I've deleted DID, restored FTL through steam (2 files needed to be downloaded), and tried it again with the exact same results on normal or high res, deleted both of the IS files, redownloaded, restored, patched, same thing. I can download other ships and replace an Athena, but I was hoping to play Infinite Space with all of the originals. Any suggestions would be so awesome, thank you very much!
DrkTemplar
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:24 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL Infinite Space

Postby DrkTemplar » Wed May 29, 2013 12:57 am

dgaforgtfo wrote:I'm having a really odd problem with this mod, every time I start it the loading bar says "Decent Into Darkness" and I can only start the game with the DID Athena ship but without any of the dialogue for it. However, on the actual start menu it says infinite space. I played DID for a bit and then unpatched it and played the regular game, now I've patched in Infinite Space by itself and I can play it but only with a SEVERELY weakened DID ship. This happens for both the normal and the high res versions available here. I've deleted DID, restored FTL through steam (2 files needed to be downloaded), and tried it again with the exact same results on normal or high res, deleted both of the IS files, redownloaded, restored, patched, same thing. I can download other ships and replace an Athena, but I was hoping to play Infinite Space with all of the originals. Any suggestions would be so awesome, thank you very much!


Sounds like the previous mod isn't being removed completely, or is being added back in when you patch with mod manager. Infinite Space doesn't include any custom ships, so if you see custom ships after patching, go back and look at the mod order file in mod manager. Does it show any other mods?
dgaforgtfo
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 6:17 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL Infinite Space

Postby dgaforgtfo » Fri May 31, 2013 7:08 am

I'm sure I don't have any other mods selected. I can unmod to just the normal game and everything is perfect. However, I have deleted all of my mods and GMM, reinstalled GMM and your mod and I STILL get it corrupted with Decent into Darkness. However, now when I try to even start a game with this it makes my whole game just close itself. I haven't deleted and reinstalled the game, but I'm pretty sure that steam would have some info saved somewhere for when I reinstalled, and it would probably still be in there somewhere. So in essence:

Regular game CAN play unmodded without a hitch

When Infinite Space is patched in alone: Decent into Darkness loading bar comes up, IS menu is up, DID ship selection is there (Athena in every slot but showing normal ship stats/augs), game crashes when I try to start with this ship.

When Infinite Space is patched in with other ship mods: Decent into Darkness loading bar comes up, IS main menu plays, Athena is available in any slot without a mod ship, if a modded ship that is not Athena is chosen IS can play normally.

So I guess if I had a mod of all of the normal ships it would work? But that seems like I'm just sort of rigging it lol. Anything else I can provide for you to consider this bug?
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1482
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL Infinite Space

Postby kartoFlane » Fri May 31, 2013 9:47 am

@dgaforgtfo
It's just the regular issue of mods being baked into GMM's backups

  1. Go to GMM/backups, delete both .bak files.
  2. .
    1. Steam users:
      Steam -> Library -> right-click on FTL -> Properties -> Local Files -> Verify Integrity of Game Cache
    2. DRM-free version users:
      Reinstall FTL (remember to back up your profile!)
  3. Launch GMM to create new backups

Mind you that if you've updated FTL to version 1.03.3, some of the total conversion mods may be broken (IS among them).
Last edited by kartoFlane on Sat Jun 22, 2013 12:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
speedoflight
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:08 am

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL Infinite Space

Postby speedoflight » Fri May 31, 2013 11:36 am

In previous versions of GMM, backups are supossed to be in the mods folder, there is no backup folder on versions 1.6 and below (just in case u are using GMM 1.6 or lower, like me).

And they only appear when u patch the game with at least 1 mod (and they are deleted when no mods are being used) , so just be aware of this if u are using the version 1.6 of GMM.
My currently mods / wips ->
ImageImage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests