[TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open source!

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
User avatar
Kieve
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:21 pm
Location: Low Orbit
Contact:

Re: Virus n stuffs

Postby Kieve » Tue Dec 04, 2012 6:19 pm

adam223344 wrote:Okay guys... not trying to be whiney, but there's a virus in the FTLdat download.

also you can't close the window, need to restart PC

for the risk of getting a virus, you shouldn't download this editor.

I'm not saying don't, but the FTLdat is a trojan.

:x


Your antivirus is lying to you. It's not a trojan, it's just very bare-bones command line stuff. Try reading through the thread before making these kind of accusations.
boa13
Posts: 829
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:42 pm
Location: Nantes, France

Re: Virus n stuffs

Postby boa13 » Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:17 pm

Kieve wrote:Your antivirus is lying to you.

More accurately, your antivirus is wrong. Get a better antivirus, or ask them to correct their mistake.
Forum janitor — If you spot spam, PM me the URL and/or the username of the spammer.
I have powers, moderator powers. I am not keen on using them, but will do so if needed.
Darkfrost
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.9] (Please test!)

Postby Darkfrost » Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:20 pm

https://www.virustotal.com/file/c20fbce ... /analysis/

Scan on FTLDat

Honestly? They're so inconsistent that it's probably fine

Based on what it's getting IDed by? It's probably fine

Also, it's open source, just skim it and built it yourself if you're so worried, it's probably fine :3
Last edited by Darkfrost on Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Love FTL? Wish you could fly around in the USS Enterprise, the Tardis, or a ship that looks just like your own face? Check out FTLEdit, a ship editor for FTL, so you can create your own custom ships and play them!
Don't forget to share them too! :)
UltraMantis
Posts: 2141
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:17 pm

Re: Virus n stuffs

Postby UltraMantis » Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:21 pm

adam223344 wrote:Okay guys... not trying to be whiney, but there's a virus in the FTLdat download.

also you can't close the window, need to restart PC

for the risk of getting a virus, you shouldn't download this editor.

I'm not saying don't, but the FTLdat is a trojan.

:x

No one else has any problems with it, maybe your PC is infected with a virus that causes problems? If you can't close the window, try pressing Ctrl + Alt + Del to open the Task Manager, and try closing the application with that. If you can't force quit you can try to find it's process on the list. Right-click and select End process and that should close it right away.

Are you using XP, Vista or Win7? If it's Vista, then first blame Vista. XP and Win7 handle things a little bit differently but if you give some details i'll try to help.

What AV detected the virus? You can try to use this online virus scanner to check if also detects a problem.
Report spam using the handy Report Button Mod.
Grognak
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:42 pm

Re: Virus n stuffs

Postby Grognak » Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:54 am

PvtVain wrote:
adam223344 wrote:Okay guys... not trying to be whiney, but there's a virus in the FTLdat download.

also you can't close the window, need to restart PC

for the risk of getting a virus, you shouldn't download this editor.

I'm not saying don't, but the FTLdat is a trojan.

:x


A.) You're terribad with computers and you have a trojan on your PC, masking other programs to hide its tracks.
B.) If no one else is reporting this issue, than it is you and your PC.

According the the post only two above yours, it's being flagged by a number of anti-virus software. There is no need to be insulting.
Zebo12345
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 3:49 am

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.88] (Please test!)

Postby Zebo12345 » Thu Dec 06, 2012 1:19 am

Ginger Dragon wrote:
Zebo12345 wrote:And is there a way to change the starting power you have?

Change your .ftl file into a .zip, open it, and go into the data folder. From there look for "blueprints.xml.append", open it, look for "maxPower Amount" and just change that number to however much starting power you want.


When I try that, it tries to save the blueprints.xml.append as a new .txt. file, and then I can't replace the first blueprints.xml.append file. What should I do?

I found a way to get the append file into the folder, but then it locks the folder. Will that have an effect on the installation?
Darkfrost
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.88] (Please test!)

Postby Darkfrost » Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:29 am

Zebo12345 wrote:
Ginger Dragon wrote:
Zebo12345 wrote:And is there a way to change the starting power you have?

Change your .ftl file into a .zip, open it, and go into the data folder. From there look for "blueprints.xml.append", open it, look for "maxPower Amount" and just change that number to however much starting power you want.


When I try that, it tries to save the blueprints.xml.append as a new .txt. file, and then I can't replace the first blueprints.xml.append file. What should I do?

I found a way to get the append file into the folder, but then it locks the folder. Will that have an effect on the installation?


Make sure you're saving it as type "all files", not as type text documents (.txt)
Image

If it's still happening, make it show you can see the file extension and just rename it

To do this, (win7)
In explorer, with the folder you want open, press the alt key, the file, edit etc menu should pop up
Image
Select Tools > Folder options

then, goto view, and unselect "Hide extensions for known files types"
Image
Then just hit OK then rename it to not have the .txt on the end
Love FTL? Wish you could fly around in the USS Enterprise, the Tardis, or a ship that looks just like your own face? Check out FTLEdit, a ship editor for FTL, so you can create your own custom ships and play them!
Don't forget to share them too! :)
Ebithril
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:46 am

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.9] (Updated 5th Decem

Postby Ebithril » Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:25 am

I can neither add a piloting section, nor rotate doors. :S
And it wern't easy to locate the dat or resource files. First when I tired to extract them it did nothing... but after trying a couple of other things it for some reason worked with my second attemt with jus extracting the files. >.<

It's a sweet as tool, especialy to costumize mods.
For instance, I am right now trying to make the Ebon Hawk look a bit more authentic then the one currently avaiable. To bad it doesn't work for me as of now, tough.

Keep at this tool, and I hope you iron out all the kinks! ;)

*Edit: Oh! And I forgot. As I am loading the Ebon Hawk - the position of the rooms is right, altough out of sync with the ship-art. And all the rooms have been mixed around. But when I play the game, it is all where it's supposed to be.
Kantei
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:30 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.88] (Please test!)

Postby Kantei » Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:31 am

Zebo12345 wrote:Every time I export a ship as a .ftl file, the ship loads right, and everything works, exept that the rooms get messed up. Should I not add extra doors? Is it because I put more than 4 crew members? Is it the programs fault? Did I not install correctly?


I have this very problem. Anyone have any ideas for a solution?
alextfish
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 2:24 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.88] (Please test!)

Postby alextfish » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:37 pm

Kantei wrote:
Zebo12345 wrote:Every time I export a ship as a .ftl file, the ship loads right, and everything works, exept that the rooms get messed up. Should I not add extra doors? Is it because I put more than 4 crew members? Is it the programs fault? Did I not install correctly?


I have this very problem. Anyone have any ideas for a solution?
What do you mean, precisely, by "the rooms get messed up"? I've been able to use FTLEdit to create 20 ships without problems, except that the images inside the rooms are stretched and incorrect (you have to go into the blueprints.xml.append file to fix that).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests