[Tool] Superluminal 2.2.1 - FTL Ship Editor

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1474
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.1a

Postby kartoFlane » Thu Jul 02, 2015 9:29 pm

Whoa, what's that? A new version!

On a whim I started working on a self-patching functionality, since it interested me... And I ended up incorporating it into the editor. From this version onwards, the editor should be able to patch itself -- no more manual download & replacing required.
Since by the time I finished that I was on a roll, I ended up implementing another thing that's been sitting at the back of my mind -- namely, customization options for the floor image generator. Doing that also required me to implement my own color picker, and I'm kinda happy with how it turned out.
Of course, having done all that, I couldn't ignore one last feature request -- the one by Horseman. So now you can also bundle your ship with a mod of your choosing, provided that you've previously loaded the mod via Mod Management dialog.

Keep in mind that all of these new features are experimental. Although I have tested them, they may very well break unexpectedly.

Download: Superluminal 2.1.2

Code: Select all

2.1.2:
- Changed default color of floor images generated by the editor to standard FTL gray - 0x64696F.
- Added customization options to floor generation - can set border width, floor margin, corner size, and floor and border colors.
- You can now save a mod file along with the ship, effectively adding the ship to the mod. The mod has to be loaded via Mod Management (Ctrl+M) first, though.
- Added experimental self-patching functionality.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
TaxiService
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: 4154313 1227347
Contact:

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2

Postby TaxiService » Fri Jul 03, 2015 1:15 am

You're splendid. :D Gonna keep an eye out for nasty bugs!
Abs
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:01 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2

Postby Abs » Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:00 pm

Awesome. Can't wait to try out the mod patching feature. :)

Abs

Edit: Does SL support custom weapons? When I load a ship from my mod, I get a warning that it can't find my WeaponBlueprint. Thanks.
Image
Click to go to the mod's facebook page for the latest updates!
The Captain
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:44 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2

Postby The Captain » Fri Jul 03, 2015 8:13 pm

Thanks for this tool, kartoFlane. I've used it to make little tweaks to the stock ships, like removing Med-/Clone Bay stations, or moving rooms around. I didn't really care if the image wasn't the right fit for the new position. But in a recent version you enabled image selection.

However, it doesn't work for Clone Bays - I get no option to choose any images. The room appears blank, other than the Clone Bay symbol. (Ships load with Medbay showing, even if it starts with the Clone Bay.) But when I load the modded ship, the Clone Bay image appears in another room: in the Engi C it appears in the lower right of the Drone Control room; in the Slug C it appears on the left side of the room above; in the Rock C, it's actually just below Piloting, outside the ship.

I'm using the latest Windows versions.
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1474
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2

Postby kartoFlane » Sat Jul 04, 2015 12:58 am

Well, the clonebay cannot hold an interior image, that's why this option is disabled for clonebay. The clone bay image appears where the station is located, so if you remove the station from the clonebay, the image is going to be rendered in a weird place like that.
I'm afraid you can't remove the station from clonebay without suffering some side effects.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
Cem
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 3:10 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2

Postby Cem » Mon Jul 06, 2015 3:18 pm

Most of systems isn't working. For example I put the engines system in a room but in the game It didn't appear so I can't use it. Please can you help me :?:
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1474
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2

Postby kartoFlane » Tue Jul 07, 2015 12:14 pm

Cem wrote:Most of systems isn't working. For example I put the engines system in a room but in the game It didn't appear so I can't use it. Please can you help me :?:

That's pretty weird, everything seems to work fine on my end. Are you sure you just haven't forgotten to save the ship / reinstall the mod with SMM?
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
LehGogh
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 4:16 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2

Postby LehGogh » Tue Jul 07, 2015 1:12 pm

@Cem: Does any part of the ship appear in the game?
Cem
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 3:10 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2

Postby Cem » Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:36 pm

Image
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1474
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2

Postby kartoFlane » Tue Jul 07, 2015 4:22 pm

Huh, that is very odd. Honestly, I've no idea how that could even happen. What exactly did you do, and in what order, to make this happen? Can you reproduce it consistently?
For now, the obvious fix would be to try and reassign the buggy system, or delete and recreate the room of the same size and then assign the system to it.
Also, as you can see, rooms larger than 2x2 are pretty buggy in-game and have the door notches drawn incorrectly. Despite the editor allowing you to create rooms of arbitrary size, it's usually better to retrain yourself to using only the vanilla-sized rooms (1x2, 2x1, 2x2).
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests