Ship creation through buy system + Randomizer utility

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
xdiesp

Ship creation through buy system + Randomizer utility

Postby xdiesp » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:06 pm

I would really like to formalize a coherent set of rules to create ships in FTL without unbalancing them, a la character creation in D&D. Sadly I'm no programmer, but I can still write down some rules like the average Joe.

So the following is supposed to be a Buy System to create ships loadouts in FTLEdit and Superluminal... give it a look, please, the rationale for the Tiers are supposed to be "energy usage" and "number of shots" analyzed together. I guess you could randomize the selection, just pay attention that the results are able to penetrate shields or in the very least teleport boarders!

edit
Here's an utility to randomize a ship's starting equipment according to these rules:
http://www.mediafire.com/?xg271zy14vwo6va

You can spend 100$. Sell your own shield for an additional 40$.
Select no weapons or attack drones for an additional 40$.

>>> $10
[Drone System] Anti-personnel Drone
[Drone System] System Repair Drone
~
[Augmentation] Drone Reactor Booster
[Augmentation] Mantis Pheromones
[Augmentation] Slug Repair Gel

>>> $20
[Weapon] Basic Laser
[Weapon] Breach Bomb I
[Weapon] Healing Bomb
[Weapon] Heavy Laser I
[Weapon] Ion blast I
[Weapon] Leto Missile
[Weapon] Mini Beam
~
[Drone System] Anti-ship Drone I
[Drone System] Beam Drone
[Drone System] Boarding Drone
~
[Augmentation] Engi Medbot Dispersal
[Augmentation] Long Ranged Scanners
[Augmentation] Rock Plating
[Augmentation] Shield Charge Boosters
[Augmentation] Titanium casing

>>> $40
[Weapon] Anti-Bio Beam
[Weapon] Artemis Missile
[Weapon] Breach Bomb II
[Weapon] Burst Laser I
[Weapon] Dual Lasers
[Weapon] Fire Beam
[Weapon] Fire Bomb
[Weapon] Heavy Crystal I
[Weapon] Heavy Ion
[Weapon] Heavy Pierce Laser
[Weapon] Hull Beam
[Weapon] Hull Missile
[Weapon] Ion Bomb