FTL Captain's Edition 1.308/Inf 1.301b/EL 1.308

Distribute and discuss mods that are functional. Moderator - Grognak
User avatar
mr_easy_money
Posts: 611
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: A galaxy far, far away

Re: FTL Captain's Edition 1.299/Inf 1.299b/EL 1.299b

Postby mr_easy_money » Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:43 am

blancfaye7 wrote:Found a new spelling error!
...
(I don't want them to be forgotten.)

as per your spelling finds, they have been added to a pull request on Github, the main spellchecking thing

more info about this from the main post:
Captain's Edition wrote:You can also support CE by participating in our collective effort to spellcheck the mod texts. That is done through a public git repository.
User avatar
blancfaye7
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:56 am

Re: FTL Captain's Edition 1.299/Inf 1.299b/EL 1.299b

Postby blancfaye7 » Thu Mar 30, 2017 1:04 pm

mr_easy_money wrote:...
as per your spelling finds, they have been added to a pull request on Github, the main spellchecking thing

...


Thing is, I don't know how to do Git the 'right way', though I have knowledge how to commit and push. That's why I thought it is better for others to add them instead.

Also, what's up with the extra system power on Shields? That last bar is... unusable. (CE Infinite)
Current Written Work: Planet Gradius
Image
User avatar
Sleeper Service
Posts: 2305
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:49 pm

Re: FTL Captain's Edition 1.299/Inf 1.299b/EL 1.299b

Postby Sleeper Service » Thu Mar 30, 2017 1:23 pm

Five shield layers break the ui. The last bar acts as a buffer bar only (mentioned in the upgrade tooltip I think).
User avatar
blancfaye7
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:56 am

Re: FTL Captain's Edition 1.299/Inf 1.299b/EL 1.299b

Postby blancfaye7 » Thu Mar 30, 2017 1:36 pm

Sleeper Service wrote:Five shield layers break the ui. The last bar acts as a buffer bar only (mentioned in the upgrade tooltip I think).


Oh OH! I get it! Thanks for that info and tip.
Current Written Work: Planet Gradius
Image
Zoltan4life
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:16 am

Re: FTL Captain's Edition 1.298b/Inf 1.28/EL 1.298

Postby Zoltan4life » Thu Mar 30, 2017 4:14 pm

R4V3-0N wrote:
Zoltan4life wrote:[...]
If this is possible, I think you should make it so every store carries weapons. In vanilla FTL, almost all weapons were very straight-forward, meaning that whenever a store sold weapons you were pretty much guaranteed to be able to improve your arsenal. In the Captain's Edition, many weapons are very situational, and the fact that there's so many more than in the original game means it is much more likely to get "duplicates" in stores. [...]


Sadly it isn't. However there are some events where you can run into a pirate smuggler or a weapons trader and buy an unknown weapon that way or a small list of weapons. But as far as I know the store is unmodable besides the price of fuel, ammo, drone parts, etc.


I see... well, that sucks.
In this case, I would like to suggest adding the option to construct a basic laser in empty areas, perhaps the otherwise rather undesirable auto-laser with its 2 power requirement as to not make the option too good?
User avatar
mr_easy_money
Posts: 611
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: A galaxy far, far away

Re: FTL Captain's Edition 1.299/Inf 1.299b/EL 1.299b

Postby mr_easy_money » Thu Mar 30, 2017 11:24 pm

;edit; a total of eight discrepancies listed in this reply. note that all endless loot mentions were of the standard CE versions. if there is more starting power than needed, it might make sense for infinite, where the costs are high but I don't know about any of that.

I noticed something about Endless Loot while making a player ships (weapons) roulette for it:

in regular CE, the drone power is 2, whereas in Endless Loot (standard CE at least, but I figure the same for CE Infinite) the drone power is 3:
(although I'm still wondering why weapons power is 3 in both versions, as the heavy ion II is only 2 power :?)

regular CE
Image

Endless Loot
Image

##############################################################################

found a similar discrepancy except with regards to weapon power, on the Zoltan A:

regular CE
Image

Endless Loot
Image

##############################################################################

found another discrepancy: stealth C, 3 vs 4 drone power

regular CE
Image

Endless Loot
Image

##############################################################################

noticed something else. it looks something's wrong when creating the Active prefix for defense drones:

Code: Select all

<droneBlueprint name="DE_DRONE_DEFENSE_LIGHT_2_ACTIVE">
   <type>DEFENSE</type>
   <tip>tip_defense</tip>
   <level>1</level>
   <title>Active Light Defense Mk II</title>
   <short>ACT L.Defense II</short>
   <desc>Fast defense drone that reliably shoots down incoming missiles, mines, and asteroids with high-velocity light lasers. Reloads in 0.6 second. Active: reload time x0.85</desc>
   <power>2</power>
   <cooldown>450</cooldown>
   <!-- Shooting cooldown for shooting at asteroids/missiles, in ms -->
   <dodge>1</dodge>
   <speed>10</speed>
   <!-- Superficial change.. just makes it fly faster -->
   <cost>66</cost>
   <bp>2</bp>
   <droneImage>high_tech_de_drone_defense_light_2</droneImage>
   <weaponBlueprint>DE_DRONE_LASER_LIGHT_DEFENSE</weaponBlueprint>
   <rarity>3</rarity>
</droneBlueprint>


the cooldown in this case should be 510, not 450 (600 ms * 0.85 = 510 ms, whereas 600 * 0.75 = 450 ms)

oh and I would check the dropbox thing, except it's giving a 404 error: this is probably due to that recent change to dropbox that's making everybody need to reupload their downloads.

##############################################################################

I found something else. I don't know if this is intentional, but it looks like the LIGHT prefix doesn't work correctly for mine weapons. isn't it supposed to make the overall damage less by 1? the system and crew damage changes are just to balance the mine out, so it should instead look like:
2 hull damage, -2 system damage, -2 crew damage.
unless I'm thinking about the prefix incorrectly, but that seems like what Light means.

Code: Select all

<weaponBlueprint name="BA_MINES_TECH_LIGHT">
   <type>LASER</type>
   <flavorType>Tech Mines</flavorType>
   <tip>ce_tip_mines_tech</tip>
   <title>Light Baal Minelauncher</title>
   <short>l Baal</short>
   <desc>Drops a cloaked tech-mine that homes in on the enemy ship and detonates in close proximity. Can only deal hull damage. Light: damage -1; cooldown x0.9</desc>
   <tooltip>Lays 1 mine; deals 3 damage to hull; pierces all shields; evades lvl 1 defense drones. Light: damage -1; cooldown x0.9</tooltip>
   <damage>2</damage>
   <sysDamage>-3</sysDamage>
   <persDamage>-3</persDamage>
   <missiles>1</missiles>
   <shots>1</shots>
   <sp>5</sp>
   <speed>9</speed>
   
   
   <cooldown>13</cooldown>
   <power>2</power>
   <cost>24</cost>
   <bp>6</bp>
   <rarity>5</rarity>
   <image>ba_mine_tech</image>
   <explosion>explosion_random</explosion>
   <launchSounds>
      <sound>mine_cloak</sound>
   </launchSounds>
   <hitShipSounds>
      <sound>smallExplosion</sound>
   </hitShipSounds>
   <hitShieldSounds>
      <sound>hitShield1</sound>
      <sound>hitShield2</sound>
      <sound>hitShield3</sound>
   </hitShieldSounds>
   <missSounds>
      <sound>miss</sound>
   </missSounds>
   <weaponArt>ba_minelauncher_tech_slight_desat</weaponArt>
</weaponBlueprint>


also maybe the same goes for other prefixes, like Alpha? since it's a mine, the system/crew damage should only change by prefix if the prefix is the one changing it i.e. explicitly says system/crew damage increased/decreased

##############################################################################

I've been wondering for a while the Lanius B in endless loot only has one flak instead of two, thinking for the longest time it should only have one:

Image

looking at the code, it shows there should be two:

Code: Select all

<shipBlueprint name="PLAYER_SHIP_ANAEROBIC_2" layout="anaerobic_cruiser_2" img="anaerobic_cruiser_2">
   <class>Lanius Cruiser</class>
   <name>The Shrike</name>
   <unlock>Complete 2/3 of the Lanius Cruiser Achievements to unlock this ship.</unlock>
   <desc>The racial ability of the Lanius make them fearsome combatants in small quarters. Combine that with a Mind Control system and this ship is a force to be reckoned with.</desc>
   <systemList>
      ...
   </systemList>
   <weaponSlots>4</weaponSlots>
   <droneSlots>2</droneSlots>
   <weaponList count="1" missiles="0">
      <weapon name="BA_SHOTGUN_SMALL_TIGHTSPREAD_FLAK" />
      <weapon name="BA_SHOTGUN_SMALL_WIDESPREAD_FLAK" />
   </weaponList>
   <droneList drones="0" />
   <health amount="30" />
   <maxPower amount="8" />
   <crewCount amount="1" class="ghost" />
   <crewCount amount="2" class="anaerobic" />
   <aug name="O2_MASKS" />
   <shieldImage>anaerobic_cruiser</shieldImage>
   <cloakImage>anaerobic_cruiser</cloakImage>
</shipBlueprint>


unlike with the Engi C, that weapon exists. the problem is that the count attribute of the weaponList is set to 1, instead of 2, so only one weapon is loaded:

Code: Select all

<weaponList count="1" missiles="0">
   <weapon name="BA_SHOTGUN_SMALL_TIGHTSPREAD_FLAK" />
   <weapon name="BA_SHOTGUN_SMALL_WIDESPREAD_FLAK" />
</weaponList>


##############################################################################

I'm a little confused with the safe prefix. now, in the files there are two tags, _SAFE and _SAFE_NONLEATHAL

it looks like in this case the latter should be used but isn't, resulting in this weapon being exactly the same as the regular Basic Laser II, as its persDamage tag's value is set to 0 instead of -1... :roll:

Code: Select all

<weaponBlueprint name="BA_LASER_BURST_1_2_SAFE">
   <type>LASER</type>
   <tip>tip_laser</tip>
   <title>Safe Basic Laser II</title>
   <short>saf Basic Laser II</short>
   <desc>Simple military laser. Safe: crew damage -1</desc>
   <tooltip>One shot, one damage per shot. Safe: crew damage -1</tooltip>
   <damage>1</damage>
   <shots>1</shots>
   <sp>0</sp>
   <fireChance>1</fireChance>
   
   <cooldown>8</cooldown>
   <power>1</power>
   <cost>18</cost>
   <bp>2</bp>
   <rarity>1</rarity>
   <image>laser_light2_slight_desat</image>
   <launchSounds>
      <sound>lightLaser1</sound>
      <sound>lightLaser2</sound>
      <sound>lightLaser3</sound>
   </launchSounds>
   <hitShipSounds>
      <sound>hitHull2</sound>
      <sound>hitHull3</sound>
   </hitShipSounds>
   <hitShieldSounds>
      <sound>hitShield1</sound>
      <sound>hitShield2</sound>
      <sound>hitShield3</sound>
   </hitShieldSounds>
   <missSounds>
      <sound>miss</sound>
   </missSounds>
   <weaponArt>ba_laser_burst_1_2_slight_desat</weaponArt>
<persDamage>0</persDamage>
<color><r>255</r>
<g>50</g>
<b>50</b>
</color>
</weaponBlueprint>


##############################################################################

this weapon's title/short/description has always been bothering me. it says Calibrated in the the name attribute and in the short tag, but reads Intense in its title and description. so is it calibrated or intense?? :?

Code: Select all

weaponBlueprint name="BA_BEAM_BATON_CALIBRATED_BEAM">
   <type>BEAM</type>
   <title>Intense Baton Beam</title>
   <short>CA Baton Beam</short>
   <desc>Modified particle beam that incapacitates ships and crew. Often used by law enforcement units. Intense: stun time x1.25</desc>
   <tooltip>Beam weapon; deals 1 damage to system; injures crew and stuns for 5 seconds. Intense: stun time x1.25</tooltip>
   <damage>0</damage>
   <stun>6</stun>
   <sysDamage>1</sysDamage>
   <persDamage>1</persDamage>
   <sp>0</sp>
   
   
   <speed>3</speed>
   <cooldown>12</cooldown>
   <color>
      <r>231</r>
      <g>237</g>
      <b>133</b>
   </color>
   <power>1</power>
   <cost>36</cost>
   <bp>3</bp>
   <rarity>3</rarity>
   <length>25</length>
   <image>beam_contact</image>
   <launchSounds>
      <sound>beam1</sound>
   </launchSounds>
   <weaponArt>ba_beam_baton_high_tech_2</weaponArt>
</weaponBlueprint>
jr2
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: FTL Captain's Edition 1.299/Inf 1.299b/EL 1.299b

Postby jr2 » Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:54 pm

Sleeper Service wrote:
Download CE Generic Sector Names Patch 1.3 (Dropbox)
Optional. Reverts changes that CE makes to sector names and adds generic names for CEs new sector types.

(The forum lies. Last updated: 25.03.2017)


Broken download link. If no one else has it (ha!), I may have it on one of my other hard drives.
User avatar
blancfaye7
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:56 am

Re: FTL Captain's Edition 1.299/Inf 1.299b/EL 1.299b

Postby blancfaye7 » Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:46 pm

jr2 wrote:
Broken download link. If no one else has it (ha!), I may have it on one of my other hard drives.


I wanna have it :D

Another one:
Image
"[...]that they OFFER to[...]"

Previous posts (spell errors):
Link1
Link2

EDIT: I have reviewed my Git, and now I'm confident I'll be able to contribute with these spell checks. Doing so now as we speak.
Last edited by blancfaye7 on Sat Apr 01, 2017 9:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Current Written Work: Planet Gradius
Image
User avatar
blancfaye7
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:56 am

Re: FTL Captain's Edition 1.299/Inf 1.299b/EL 1.299b

Postby blancfaye7 » Sat Apr 01, 2017 9:31 am

:shock:

Image

The first post content has been cut!

Also... I get this error when accessing Sector Names generic mod.
Image
EVEN WHEN I'M SIGNED IN!
Current Written Work: Planet Gradius
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests