The Legend of John "Redshirt" Davis

Have a great FTL experience you would like to share? Post here!
J.T.

The Legend of John "Redshirt" Davis

Postby J.T. » Sat Jul 27, 2013 5:06 pm

I decided to make a forum account and practice my writing after a somewhat memorable campaign. This might be a bit long.

I bought FTL towards the end of the Steam Summer Sale after having it recommended by a friend, so I'm fairly new to it. I quickly discovered that the nature of the game lends itself well to my tendency to value the individual characters in my campaign - sort of like how a lot of people feel about their starter Pokemon, for example.

I might be a bit weird in that regard, admittedly.

After a few failed campaigns playing with crew named after Mass Effect characters which got me acquainted with the game, I decided, for a personal touch, to give the characters slightly more unique names (or as close to unique as my naming-impaired brain can come up with - I swear, if I ever have children and have to pick names, they are screwed). I got significantly farther on that first playthrough with those new characters than I ever had with my Normandy crew, though that was probably due more to luck than anything else. Nonetheless, I decided then that I would continue using the "same" crew, on the same systems I had them manning in the first campaign, until I managed to get to the end of the game.

As I played through campaign after campaign, though, I began to notice a trend: Davis, the crewman I had manning the engine room, was always the first to die.

Always.