Manning Shields

All your guides, strategy discussions, request for help on how to play go here. Please use [SPOILER] if relevant.
Svankensen

Manning Shields

Postby Svankensen » Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:15 pm

I used to have a man at shields almost the whole time when i started playing, but nowadays i find it much more usefull to have a guy manning engines or weapons than shields, and its now the last post i occupy. Are you guys experiencing the same?
Farlark

Re: Manning Shields

Postby Farlark » Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:28 pm

I agree, it seems that, overall, it's the station that least desperately requires manning. In order of importance. I'd say it goes Helm>Engines>Weapons>Shields (or is it Helm>Weapons>Engines>Shields?). In any case, shields generally seem to recharge in plenty of time to counter most threats, even when unmanned.
MANtisB

Postby MANtisB » Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:49 pm

Situational re: engines/weapons. If your weapons can fire quickly enough to disable the enemy weapon system before it can launch another salvo, then they are preferred to engines, because that provides a 100% chance to avoid the next salvo (where engines only provide 5 to the original % - which can never be 5 or below - so the gain will always be less than 100%). If you had to pick one position to man the entire time, you would want to pick engines, but if you learn to recognize all the weapons on enemy ships just by looking at them AND remember your own charge times, then you could switch your guy between the two to get the optimal result. (Essentially, prefer engines in practice if you want a rule to follow.)