Getting owned by missles

All your guides, strategy discussions, request for help on how to play go here. Please use [SPOILER] if relevant.
grooftl

Getting owned by missles

Postby grooftl » Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:58 pm

Noob here playing that square engi ship on Normal difficulty. Best score so far ~1950 at 6th system.

I always try to upgrade shields to 3rd level, but run into enemies who all have missiles that chew up my hull - fast! Then I have to waste most of my scrap repairing.

Only 1 time in all games have I seen something - a drone I think - that can intercept missiles. I think I had like 3 scrap at the time and it cost like 50 or 80.

Any tips on countering missiles? I can rarely buy anything good like teleporter since so much scrap has to be used repairing hull.
Kolkko

Re: Getting owned by missles

Postby Kolkko » Fri Jan 04, 2013 3:26 pm

Defense drone costs 50 scrap and shoots down missiles pretty reliably (also shoots asteroids). MkII costs 75 and shoots down lasers too, but may let missiles through while doing that. Don't go to shop beacons before you have 50 scrap (or something to sell to make that number).

Upgrading engines improves your evasion. Lower levels are well worth the price if you don't have defense drones.

Cloak helps to dodge them, obviously. Might not be wise to float 150 scrap before last few sectors, though.

When given a choice, avoid fights when you see missile weapons on the enemy ship.

Avoid rockman sectors, they like missiles.
afedyuki

Postby afedyuki » Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:16 am

That's a problem right there. The way the game designed, you can't win if you invest heavily into one type of defense and ignore others. There are weapons that can completely negate a specific defense type. You can't shield against missiles and you can't dodge beams. Essentially, you have to have:

(shields OR cloak) AND (upgraded engine OR defense drones)