[Suggestion] overloading modules

General discussion about the game.
temporal

[Suggestion] overloading modules

Postby temporal » Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:46 pm

Like some of the posters here I'm a veteran of EVE Online.

There is a great little mechanic in that game that allows you to overload your modules to get a bonus to their effectiveness at the cost of accumulating heat damage. If left unchecked this heat damage can burn out the module and even damage nearby modules.

This could be implemented similar to the sabotage damage from boarders:

Upon clicking an overload button next the module's icon, it increases its effectiveness by some module-specific amount. Weapons and shields would recharge faster, engines and cockpit grant extra dodge/faster FTL charge, medbay heals more, O2 pump has greater output, etc.

The module accumulates heat damage which shows up as a red bar over its power bars on the HUD, the same as sabotage. After a bar is filled that bar is marked damaged/offlined and maybe there is a chance that it starts a fire.

Overloading can be toggled off at any time but the heat damage remains until it is repaired. Another possibility is to have it not be repairable, heat damage has to dissipate over time.

Maybe also make it impossible to repair a module while it is being overloaded.

If this is a bit too powerful it could always be added as an upgrade instead.
Sacred

Re: [Suggestion] overloading modules

Postby Sacred » Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:31 pm

And then you could have an ion cannon that sends straight energy and overloads random systems, I think it'd be pretty cool
You can knock yourself out for all I care
temporal

Postby temporal » Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:56 pm

Sacred wrote:And then you could have an ion cannon that sends straight energy and overloads random systems, I think it'd be pretty cool

Absolutely.

I think that heat as a mechanic would add a neat new problem for the player to manage as well as opening up possibilities for new weapon classes.