Possible Bug: Zoltan and weapons

General discussion about the game.
VladePsyker
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:18 pm

Possible Bug: Zoltan and weapons

Postby VladePsyker » Sun Jun 17, 2012 5:13 am

If its intended so be it, its easy enough to work around.

Okay so mantis ship, 1 weapon power, small bomb (slot 1)) and basic laser (slot 2).
Charge the basic laser
Walk a Zoltan into the weapons room and immediately he powers the slot 1 weapon which in this case turns off slot 2 because you can't power both.

I've also seen this happen with more weapon power and more weapons, slot 1 gets powered even if it turns off another weapon that's already on.

the in-game fix is simple, don't put Zoltan in the weapons room

but just wanted to check if this is intended or a bug ?
VladePsyker
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:18 pm

Re: Possible Bug: Zoltan and weapons

Postby VladePsyker » Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:24 am

no one come across this ?
Gorlom
Posts: 519
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:06 am

Re: Possible Bug: Zoltan and weapons

Postby Gorlom » Mon Jun 18, 2012 1:11 am

Mostly because I keep my zoltans in the med bay... The first 3-4 I got died on me rather quickly and since then I've been too scared to move them out of the safest place on the ship.
VladePsyker
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:18 pm

Re: Possible Bug: Zoltan and weapons

Postby VladePsyker » Mon Jun 18, 2012 5:24 am

Gorlom wrote:Mostly because I keep my zoltans in the med bay... The first 3-4 I got died on me rather quickly and since then I've been too scared to move them out of the safest place on the ship.


they do better on engi circle ships with persistent heals everywhere, they still die to breech missles no way to avoid that
Gorlom
Posts: 519
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:06 am

Re: Possible Bug: Zoltan and weapons

Postby Gorlom » Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:39 am

Are they supposed to be oneshot kills for breach weapons like that? or are they merely supposed to be less effective as combat units?

Maybe their stats could be altered?
-Health increased to 70 or 80 (up from 50). They still don't stand a chance against humans, slugs, mantis, rocks and droids but I wouldn't keep them in the medbay every time I get one.
-Health upped to 100 but they take (partial) damage from system damage and increased damage from enemy crewmen... and possibly fire? (That they take damage from system damage could be justified that there is a feedback surge or something?) Shouldn't change that much except they aren't as likely to die in one hit?
-Health stays at 50 but they regenerate in fire (Should provide players with some interesting boarding tactics alternatives) What's that? Just because they are "energy beings" they can't use fire to resupply their internal energies? One form of energy isn't as good as another? BAH... It would be fun though, right?
Spyda K
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 6:10 am

Re: Possible Bug: Zoltan and weapons

Postby Spyda K » Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:48 am

I've noticed this happening too. While the obvious answer is to move the Zoltan crew member somewhere else, another workaround is to reassign you're weapons so that the one you want active will be in the first slot.

It would be nice to have another option, though. A feature where a Zoltan in the weapon room would power the first gun you have active or try to activate would be nice. I did have it where I had a 2-energy weapon on the first slot turned off, and I couldn't use the Zoltan's free energy bar for a weapon besides the one in the first slot.
kshh
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:42 am

Re: Possible Bug: Zoltan and weapons

Postby kshh » Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:56 am

Ya, using zoltans is tricky.. noticed that too...

I keep mine in the engine room mostly, for the simple reason that I use my engine as backup power for vital systems... if I need an extra power bar I just depower engines by 1.
And with the zoltan - losing 5% dodge is not as big a deal as, say, losing a weapon halfway through recharge or a shield point at a critical moment.
VladePsyker
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:18 pm

Re: Possible Bug: Zoltan and weapons

Postby VladePsyker » Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:33 pm

as I said don't mind if its intended and part of the game just figured being beta it was worth brining up to make sure its a feature and not a bug

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests