[Tool] Superluminal 2.2.1 - FTL Ship Editor

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
NoShotz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 11:46 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 8

Postby NoShotz » Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:13 pm

kartoFlane wrote:@NoShotz
So the editor is launching correctly, but apparently crashes during the update check... That's all the log's telling me though, it doesn't tell me why it's crashing, which is odd.

I would appreciate if you could provide me more info on this error. When you launch the editor via one of the .exe files, the command line window appears (the black box with text messages in it). When the editor crashes, it'll print the stack trace to this window. If you could post a screenshot of that, it'd make it much easier for me to fix.

For now, you can work around this issue by opening the config file (editor.cfg), and disabling auto updates. Find the entry 'checkUpdatesOnStartup', and set it to false. Save the file and try launching the editor again.


i will try what you have suggested, but its not possible to take a screenshot becuase the command line window closes too quickly

EDIT: okay thats wierd, wheni move the loading box before it crashes, it doesnt crash, if i dont move it, it does crash
xhellfire
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:09 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 8

Postby xhellfire » Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:54 pm

first off i want to say how awesome this program is, soooo much potential to create awesome ships, and it definitely adds a lot to the game... basically you're awesome for making this

anyways my problem is that my main computer is a mac and every time i try to load a ship that someone here made it gives me an error, i've tried with a bunch of custom ships and none of them load. When i go to the load ship menu all it gives me are the player ship and enemy ship tabs, I can't open these tabs and i assume that superluminal thinks theres nothing in these tabs. it seems like superluminal can't find any of the stock ships either. I've tried using it on a windows and i've loaded and modded my own and the stock ships.

tldr: tried to load ships and the stock ships aren't in the menu and it gives me an error when i try to load a custom ship basically i can't load any ships

the terminal error message:

Code: Select all

Last login: Thu Jun  5 15:51:05 on ttys000
/Users/admin/Documents/My\ Games/FTL/Superluminal\ Mac-64\ v2.0.0/Superluminal2.command ; exit;
Admins-MacBook-Pro-6:~ admin$ /Users/admin/Documents/My\ Games/FTL/Superluminal\ Mac-64\ v2.0.0/Superluminal2.command ; exit;
2014-06-05 15:57:48.372 java[1646:230b] [Java CocoaComponent compatibility mode]: Enabled
2014-06-05 15:57:48.373 java[1646:230b] [Java CocoaComponent compatibility mode]: Setting timeout for SWT to 0.100000
DEBUG Superluminal - Superluminal v2.0.0 beta8
DEBUG Superluminal - Mac OS X 10.9.2
DEBUG Superluminal - Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM, 1.6.0_65, x86_64
DEBUG Superluminal - SWT v4335

2014-06-05 15:57:48.749 java[1646:230b] _createMenuRef called with existing principal MenuRef already associated with menu
2014-06-05 15:57:48.751 java[1646:230b] (
   0   CoreFoundation                      0x00007fff8e11025c __exceptionPreprocess + 172
   1   libobjc.A.dylib                     0x00007fff878f3e75 objc_exception_throw + 43
   2   CoreFoundation                      0x00007fff8e11010c +[NSException raise:format:] + 204
   3   AppKit                              0x00007fff86abce84 -[NSCarbonMenuImpl _createMenuRef] + 62
   4   AppKit                              0x00007fff86abc85a -[NSCarbonMenuImpl _instantiateCarbonMenu] + 143
   5   AppKit                              0x00007fff86abb022 -[NSApplication finishLaunching] + 876
   6   libswt-pi-cocoa-4335.jnilib         0x000000010f6139ee Java_org_eclipse_swt_internal_cocoa_OS_objc_1msgSendSuper__Lorg_eclipse_swt_internal_cocoa_objc_1super_2J + 89
   7   ???                                 0x0000000106611eee 0x0 + 4401995502
)
TRACE Superluminal - Loading properties from config file...
INFO  Superluminal - Using FTL dats path from config: /Users/admin/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/common/FTL Faster Than Light/FTL.app/Contents/Resources
TRACE Superluminal - Loading dat archives...
TRACE Superluminal - Loading database...
Exception in thread "Thread-5" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
   at java.util.Arrays.copyOf(Arrays.java:2882)
   at java.lang.AbstractStringBuilder.expandCapacity(AbstractStringBuilder.java:100)
   at java.lang.AbstractStringBuilder.append(AbstractStringBuilder.java:390)
   at java.lang.StringBuffer.append(StringBuffer.java:224)
   at java.lang.StringBuffer.append(StringBuffer.java:284)
   at java.util.regex.Matcher.appendReplacement(Matcher.java:746)
   at java.util.regex.Matcher.replaceAll(Matcher.java:813)
   at java.lang.String.replaceAll(String.java:2189)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.utils.IOUtils.decodeText(IOUtils.java:314)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.core.DatabaseEntry.load(DatabaseEntry.java:457)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal$1.execute(Superluminal.java:238)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.utils.UIUtils$1.run(UIUtils.java:286)
INFO  Superluminal - Checking for updates...
INFO  Superluminal - Program is up to date.
INFO  Superluminal - Running...
TRACE DatabaseEntry - Personal peregrine Lanis b destroyer.ftl was loaded successfully.
WARN  ShipLoaderDialog - An error has occured while loading PLAYER_SHIP_ANAEROBIC_2: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: WeaponBlueprint not found: BA_PLASMA_2_CUSTOM
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.utils.ShipLoadUtils.loadShipXML(ShipLoadUtils.java:341)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.ui.ShipLoaderDialog$5.widgetSelected(ShipLoaderDialog.java:271)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.TypedListener.handleEvent(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.EventTable.sendEvent(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.sendEvent(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Widget.sendEvent(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Widget.sendEvent(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Widget.sendEvent(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Widget.notifyListeners(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.runDeferredEvents(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.readAndDispatch(Unknown Source)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal.main(Superluminal.java:264)


User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 8

Postby kartoFlane » Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:29 am

@xhellfire
Do you happen to have any mods installed, say... Captains Edition with Endless Loot?
The reason I ask this is because the editor runs out of memory while trying to load the data... And as of today, there's only one mod that can do that.
Either way, if you do, then you'll need to uninstall Endless Loot whenever you wish to use the editor.

@NoShotz
Very weird indeed :/ For now I've added an additional safeguard to catch the error, since I haven't managed to figure it out yet. So we'll find out what happens once I release the next version.

Or, if you feel like helping out now, you could run the editor manually via command line, so that it doesn't disappear instantly...
In the editor's directory, Shift-right click on empty space in the folder -- in the popup menu that shows up there should be an option along the lines of "Open Command Prompt Here". Select it, and once the command line appears, drag one of the .exe files into the window, and press enter.
The editor will launch normally, but the window won't close when it encounters the error.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
NoShotz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 11:46 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 8

Postby NoShotz » Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:44 am

kartoFlane wrote:@xhellfire
Do you happen to have any mods installed, say... Captains Edition with Endless Loot?
The reason I ask this is because the editor runs out of memory while trying to load the data... And as of today, there's only one mod that can do that.
Either way, if you do, then you'll need to uninstall Endless Loot whenever you wish to use the editor.

@NoShotz
Very weird indeed :/ For now I've added an additional safeguard to catch the error, since I haven't managed to figure it out yet. So we'll find out what happens once I release the next version.

Or, if you feel like helping out now, you could run the editor manually via command line, so that it doesn't disappear instantly...
In the editor's directory, Shift-right click on empty space in the folder -- in the popup menu that shows up there should be an option along the lines of "Open Command Prompt Here". Select it, and once the command line appears, drag one of the .exe files into the window, and press enter.
The editor will launch normally, but the window won't close when it encounters the error.


I did what you have said, and took a screenshot

http://imgur.com/asyhTyG
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 8

Postby kartoFlane » Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:35 pm

NoShotz wrote:I did what you have said, and took a screenshot

http://imgur.com/asyhTyG

Awesome, that explains it :) Got it fixed, thanks!
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
xhellfire
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:09 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 8

Postby xhellfire » Fri Jun 06, 2014 4:24 pm

thanks for getting back to me karto, i definitely did have captains edition with endless loot installed, i took endless loot off and it worked fine :D . kind of a bummer i can't have endless loot on, i really liked putting the perfect weapons/drones on my ships but thas ok i guess, i can still mod on my old windows. my windows can run endless loot ok so im guessing its just my stupid mac thats running out of memory. theres no way to get endless loot to work on the mac right?

anyways thanks for the help and the awesome mod!
Captain Classified
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 1:06 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 8

Postby Captain Classified » Mon Jun 09, 2014 1:28 am

Hey there guys. Great looking program, this Superluminal2 beta8, but it won't work for me. I'm on a 64-bit system but i've tried the 32-bit version as well. (Yes I installed 64-bit Java Runtime after the 32-bit version refused to work, uninstalled the game and reinstalled, etc...)

All i'm trying to do is edit the starting weapons, augmentations, and crew types / numbers on the type C vessels.
Simple mods, compared to what you guys do.

(I think that the type C vessels should have had a bit more thought put into them, for example, the type C rock cruiser should have the augmentation 'Crystal Vengeance' shouldn't it? It's a really special ship! I believe that these ships should be more 'enjoyable' to play, for the time invested in unlocking them, just not so much that they are unbalanced. And just my humble opinion here.)

Anyway the game itself crashes whenever I try to select a ship that I designed in the editor. Any ideas?

I have no mods installed. Someone else's mod works fine though... 'Jopyth's [Ship][AE] No Oxygen in Lanius B, CE Compatible Version' is the only ship mod that I bothered to download, as it's tweaked just as finely as I would like to tweak some of these ships. (I wouldn't remove the Oxygen unit, since there are scenarios in the game that force you to take on crew. Although, you can dismiss them instead of just watching them suffocate... Hmmm maybe i'll stick with Jopyth's Lanius mod after all. Maybe...)

This is very frustrating, I love this game and this has opened a new world to me.... IF I can get it to work!

Thanks for all the hard work.
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 8

Postby kartoFlane » Wed Jun 11, 2014 9:30 pm

@xhellfire
If you have a 64-bit system, then installing 64-bit version of Java will allow you to run Endless Loot on Macs, as well as allow the editor to work with CE-EL.

@Captain Classified
That is very odd. No idea why the ships are causing the game to crash... :/ There was a similar issue reported shortly after I've released the editor, but so far I've been unable to pinpoint the cause.
Hopefully it's something I've spotted while working on beta9 *shrug*
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 9

Postby kartoFlane » Fri Jun 13, 2014 3:34 pm

Aaaalright, I think beta9 is ready to be released. Probably the biggest update so far -- it has a literal crapload of tweaks and improvements, and perhaps most importantly to some, gib editing.

To give a brief summary on how gib modification works:
  • Gib tool has been removed. Instead, you can add new gibs via the Images Tool, Gibs tab.
  • You can modify gibs and their properties with the Manipulation Tool -- move them, or show additional controls for direction and linear velocities (angular velocity is not in yet).
    • Direction - the green arc shows the directions in which the gib will float
    • Linear Velocity - the red circle indicates how far the gib will travel in-game
    • Angular Velocity - not implemented yet (need to come up with a neat set of controls for this property)
  • All elements of the ship are being displayed at once, so in order to get to gibs, you'll have to hide all the other things that are drawn above them (ie. press keys 1 through 8).
  • Gibs can't be reordered yet.
  • You can hide individual gibs (rooms/doors/mounts) via the Ship Overview Window (hotkey O by default)

Sorry about the delay, but the semester is ending, and I had (still have) a lot of exams to study for :)

Download: [ Superluminal 2.0.0 beta9 ]

Full changelog:

Code: Select all

2.0.0 beta9:
- Fixed a bug that would prevent weapon/drone slots from saving correctly for enemy ships
- Ship save destination is now on a per-ship basis, instead of being application-wide
- File and folder selection dialogs should now remember their own paths. Some of the file selection dialogs are grouped together, eg. all interior images' dialogs use the same path.
- Toggling hangar image for enemy ships now displays the enemy window instead
- Disabled the horizontal offset slider for enemy ships, since it doesn't affect them
- Fixed enemy offset loading & improved enemy optimal offset calculation
- Ship Loader now also remembers previous selection
- Enemy ship images now get saved to 'ships_glow' instead of 'ships_noglow' -- still not sure if only one is enough for enemy ship hulls to show up correctly
- Removed unnecessary method calls, reducing ManipulationTool dragging lag by around 33%
- Fixed a bug with database reloading that would crash the editor in any mods were loaded
- Corrected ship saving to only export interior and glow images when the system using them is actually assigned
- Fixed a bug with the loading dialog that would cause the editor to crash if two loading dialogs were displayed at the same time
- Hiding an object now also deselects it
- Fixed config dialog's contents not wrapping when the window was resized, improved scrolling
- Added artillery loading & saving (no modification yet)
- Added new config option to reset door links when the door is moved
- Reworked Gib Tool to be a part of Images Tool
- Fixed a bug that would cause gib ordering to not be preserved
- Fixed angular velocity not being loaded
- Fixed gib saving
- Added gib modification (WOOO!) -- angular velocity modification is not in yet
- Added gib image saving
- Fixed shield & interior images (?) being exported for enemy ships
- Slightly reworked & improved the Overview Window, added gibs, and a visibility toggle button
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
xhellfire
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:09 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 9

Postby xhellfire » Mon Jun 16, 2014 12:17 am

great work on the gib tool, i tested it out and it works pretty well, excited for the next update.
idk if its a glitch or not but when i tried to do something inconsequential on one of my own mod ships (i think i changed a systems starting power from like 2 to 3 or something small) the shield graphic in the game stopped working. i tried making a new ship so i loaded the base model of the starting ship b and loaded a new shield graphic from the high res shields mod onto it. when i first loaded the image of the shield in superluminal it didnt show up. i hit 8 twice (the hotkey for the show shield image) and when i hid it and then showed it again it showed up fine. i loaded the mod along side of ce and infinite loot and what not and it didnt show up in the game, but it was working and the shield was blocking shots....just that it was invisible i guess

tldr loaded a shield onto ships in the mod and they didnt show up ingame

thanks again man your mod kicks ass

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests