Page 24 of 128

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:29 pm
by kartoFlane
No, by "2000px in size" I meant 2000x2000, not square pixels :P

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 5:02 pm
by NarnKar
kartoFlane wrote:No, by "2000px in size" I meant 2000x2000, not square pixels :P


Ah, sorry, my bad. I'm still new to this whole "being a sprite artist" thing...

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Posted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 8:35 pm
by NarnKar
How do you get the thruster glows on your ship hulls?

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Posted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 9:03 pm
by kartoFlane
You can't, the engine thrusters are hardcoded to appear for the Kestrel and Federation ships :(

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 3:08 pm
by Konz
Hey,

I am new to this forum, sorry if this is the wrong thread.
I would like to create a HUD mod and for that I would like to change the colour of the energy bars for the system power and the hull health, but I can't find the file I have to modify for that.
If anybody could help me that would be nice. :)

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 4:07 pm
by kartoFlane
I'm afraid these can't be really changed -- if I recall correctly, the system power bars are drawn programmatically, without using an image resource. The health indicator can be given a different shape, but its coloration/tint is hardcoded as well :(

Either way, the health indicator mask is located at img/statusUI/top_hull_bar_mask.png in the unpacked archives.

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 3:07 am
by Konz
Hey kartoFlane,
thanks for your reply. :)

I was able to get a different colour by changing the mask colour, I will see if that will work. :)

Mask:
top_hull_bar_mask.png


Ingame:
hull-ingame.png

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 10:19 am
by dalolorn
Konz wrote:Hey kartoFlane,
thanks for your reply. :)

I was able to get a different colour by changing the mask colour, I will see if that will work. :)

Mask:
top_hull_bar_mask.png


Ingame:
hull-ingame.png


Yes, this would account for the fact that something someone made a while back (custom hull bars or something) was yellow instead of green.

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:17 pm
by NarnKar
I tried making a freeze-ray weapon, by putting lockdown on the beam. But when I tested it, it only did standard damage, without doing any lockdowns...

Is there anything wrong with my code, or is putting lockdown on beams impossible?

Here's my code, for reference's sake.

animations.xml.append

Code: Select all

<animSheet name="FREEZERAY" w="264" h="140" fw="33" fh="140">weapons/freezeray_strip8.png</animSheet>
<weaponAnim name="FREEZERAY">
   <sheet>FREEZERAY</sheet>
   <desc length="8" x="0" y="0" />
   <chargedFrame>5</chargedFrame>
   <fireFrame>6</fireFrame>
   <firePoint x="16" y="48" />
   <mountPoint x="4" y="111" />
   <chargeImage>weapons/freezeray_glow.png</chargeImage>
</weaponAnim>


blueprints.xml.append

Code: Select all

<weaponBlueprint name="FREEZERAY">
   <type>BEAM</type>
   <tip>tip_beams</tip>
   <title>Freeze Ray</title>
   <short>Freeze Ray</short>
   <desc>A freeze ray that can lock down entire ships. Water shorts out systems, but does no hull damage. Pierces all shields, including Zoltan shields.</desc>
   <tooltip>Lockdown beam.</tooltip>
   <damage>0</damage>
   <sysDamage>1</sysDamage>
   <sp>5</sp>
   <fireChance>0</fireChance>
   <breachChance>0</breachChance>
   <lockdown>1</lockdown>
   <speed>13</speed>
   <cooldown>16</cooldown>
   <color>
      <r>176</r>
      <g>224</g>
      <b>230</b>
   </color>
   <power>3</power>
   <cost>100</cost>
   <bp>5</bp>
   <rarity>0</rarity>
   <image>beam_contact</image>
   <length>170</length>
   <launchSounds>
      <sound>beam1</sound>
      <sound>beam1_2</sound>
   </launchSounds>
   <weaponArt>FREEZERAY</weaponArt>
   <iconImage>beam</iconImage>
</weaponBlueprint>

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:58 pm
by kartoFlane
Generally beams seem to be handled differently than other weapons (or they're simply not coded to apply a modifier, like lockdown). So I guess you've just hit one of those hardcoded walls here.
Your code seems fine, though you could verify whether this works by just slapping the <lockdown> tag on a minibeam and trying it out *shrug*
But I'm fairly certain that lockdown just doesn't work on beams, similarily how negative crew damage doesn't.