Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
LaytheDragon
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:32 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby LaytheDragon » Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:04 pm

Greetings. Could someone please share with me the name of the Crystal Sector in the game's code? (As far as I know, it could be Crystal_Sector, Hidden_Crystal_Worlds, etc., and a Google Search didn't help at all, with all the links instead relating to how to find the sector in-game)
TheVastComplex
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 4:37 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby TheVastComplex » Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:44 pm

LaytheDragon wrote:Greetings. Could someone please share with me the name of the Crystal Sector in the game's code? (As far as I know, it could be Crystal_Sector, Hidden_Crystal_Worlds, etc., and a Google Search didn't help at all, with all the links instead relating to how to find the sector in-game)

"<sectorDescription name="CRYSTAL_HOME" minSector="0" unique="true">
<nameList>
<name>Hidden Crystal Worlds</name>
</nameList>
<trackList>
<track>debris</track>
<track>wasteland</track>
<track>deepspace</track>
</trackList>
<rarityList>
<blueprint name="engi" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="mantis" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="energy" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="slug" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="rock" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="human" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="crystal" rarity="1"/>
<blueprint name="LASER_BURST_1" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="LASER_BURST_2" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="LASER_BURST_2_A" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="LASER_BURST_3" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="LASER_BURST_5" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="LASER_HEAVY_1" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="LASER_HEAVY_2" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="MISSILES_1" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="MISSILES_2" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="MISSILES_2_PLAYER" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="MISSILES_3" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="MISSILES_BURST" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="MISSILES_BREACH" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BEAM_1" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BEAM_2" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BEAM_3" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BEAM_LONG" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BEAM_FIRE" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BOMB_BREACH_1" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BOMB_BREACH_2" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="ION_1" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="ION_2" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="ION_4" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BOMB_1" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BOMB_FIRE" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BOMB_ION" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BOMB_HEAL" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="LASER_HULL_1" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="LASER_HULL_2" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BEAM_HULL" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="MISSILES_HULL" rarity="0"/>
<blueprint name="BOMB_LOCK" rarity="3"/>
<blueprint name="CRYSTAL_BURST_1" rarity="1"/>
<blueprint name="CRYSTAL_BURST_2" rarity="4"/>
<blueprint name="CRYSTAL_HEAVY_1" rarity="2"/>
<blueprint name="CRYSTAL_HEAVY_2" rarity="5"/>
</rarityList>
<startEvent>START_BEACON_CRYSTAL</startEvent>
<event name="STORE_CRYSTAL" min="2" max="3"/>
<event name="ITEMS_CRYSTAL" min="2" max="2"/>
<event name="NOTHING_CRYSTAL" min="2" max="2"/>
<event name="HOSTILE_CRYSTAL" min="6" max="10"/>
<event name="BOARDERS_CRYSTAL" min="1" max="2"/>
<event name="NEUTRAL_CRYSTAL" min="12" max="12"/>


</sectorDescrption>"

--sector_data.xml
WhiteWeasel
Posts: 245
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 4:36 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby WhiteWeasel » Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:10 am

With most of my ships and weapons complete, I feel ready to move on to the next chapter of my work. And that is to give baddies my weapons and make weapons show up in the weapons pool for generated enemies. Any tutorials or guides for doing this? I found the lists, do I just add this section to my autoBlueprints.xml.append and add in my weapons to the appropriate places? EDIT: I've tried something like that below, and so far no effect.

Code: Select all

<blueprintList name="WEAPONS_REBEL">
   <name>LASER_BURST_1</name>
   <name>LASER_BURST_2_A</name>
   <name>LASER_BURST_3</name>
   <name>LASER_BURST_5</name>
   <name>LASER_HEAVY_1</name>
   <name>LASER_HEAVY_2</name>
   <name>MISSILES_1</name>
   <name>MISSILES_2</name>
   <name>MISSILES_3</name>
   <name>MISSILES_BREACH</name>
   <name>BEAM_1</name>
   <name>BEAM_2</name>
   <name>BOMB_1</name>
   <!-- MLAS Weapons -->
   <name>LASER_RAIL_1</name>
   <name>RAIL_CHARGEGUN</name>   
   <name>BEAM_SCALPEL</name>
</blueprintList>
Image
Xenaero
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:35 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Xenaero » Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:48 am

I seem to be rather hung up on giving multiple weapons or augmentation rewards to the player in an event. I'm going to assume it's not possible to do in one event block. Are there any examples of an efficient way of doing this? I've done a couple searches but the answer has eluded me. Thanks in advance for any help.
Peanut Butter
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:13 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Peanut Butter » Thu Feb 23, 2017 11:30 am

Game don't display characters "ĄąĆćĘꣳŃńŚśŻżŹź" correctly. Any solution for that?
User avatar
Chrono Vortex
Posts: 266
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 8:51 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Chrono Vortex » Fri Mar 03, 2017 8:14 am

Xenaero wrote:I seem to be rather hung up on giving multiple weapons or augmentation rewards to the player in an event. I'm going to assume it's not possible to do in one event block. Are there any examples of an efficient way of doing this? I've done a couple searches but the answer has eluded me. Thanks in advance for any help.

I believe DryEagle's Descent into Darkness mod accomplishes this in the event for the first beacon.
Image
LaytheDragon
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:32 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby LaytheDragon » Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:52 am

Could someone please share the steps necessary in modding in an enemy ship after completing and exporting it as a .ftl file from Superluminal?
User avatar
Sleeper Service
Posts: 2305
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:49 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Sleeper Service » Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:45 am

First you need to make sure that you have indeed created an enemy ship. Player ships won't do, Slipstream has a seperate setting for creating enemy ships. What ships can appear as enemies ingame is governed by bleuprint lists in autoBlueprints.xml. Like this one for example:

Code: Select all

<blueprintList name="SHIPS_ZOLTAN">
   <name>ZOLTAN_FIGHTER</name>
   <name>ZOLTAN_BOMBER</name>
</blueprintList>


To mod in your ship first extract the game data with SMM. Now look at autoBlueprints.xml and decide which ship lists you want the enemy to be part of. Create a autoBlueprints.xml.append file containing those lists, with your ship added to them as a new entry. Like this;

Code: Select all

<blueprintList name="SHIPS_ZOLTAN">
   <name>ZOLTAN_FIGHTER</name>
   <name>ZOLTAN_BOMBER</name>

   <name>MY_SHIP_ID_FOUND_IN_SHIP_BLUEPRINT</name>
</blueprintList>


(You can influence the likelihood of your ship appearing by adding it multiple times. Entries in lists are selected randomly with equal chance for each entry). Save your .append file and place it in the data folder of your uncompressed ship mod. Re-compress your ship mod into an .flt file and you are done.

If you want to ensure compatibility you can use SMMs advance tags to "inject" your ship into any existing lists. This ensure that your mod does not overwrite lists that have been changed by other mods. SMMs readme explains a little how to use the tags, but if you want details you'll have to ask someone else (I don't have much experience with that stuff).
User avatar
mr_easy_money
Posts: 609
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: A galaxy far, far away

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby mr_easy_money » Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:25 am

LaytheDragon wrote:*snip*
Sleeper Service wrote:If you want to ensure compatibility you can use SMMs advance tags to "inject" your ship into any existing lists. This ensure that your mod does not overwrite lists that have been changed by other mods. SMMs readme explains a little how to use the tags, but if you want details you'll have to ask someone else (I don't have much experience with that stuff).

adding on to this...

here is a link that basically is an example of some of them, viewtopic.php?t=26426 , though I'm not really sure how to implement mod:findComposite. if you search this thread or the slipstream one with one of the mod commands (such as findLike, findWithChildLike, mod:selector, mod:findComposite, etc) you'll probably bump into some knowledge on how to use them correctly. if you find yourself confused on how to use them just ask in this thread with an example and some one will probably sort you out.
Sixfortyfive
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 9:02 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Sixfortyfive » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:08 pm

Can anyone help me figure out how to get the computer terminal glow (manning glow) working correctly on new room layouts?

This is the current version of the mod file for the ship I'm working on right now (playable Rebel Flagship):
http://sixfortyfive.com/temp/ftl/test.ftl

In short, I guess I'm asking why this code in rooms.xml.append doesn't appear to be doing anything:

Code: Select all

<roomLayout name="sixfortyfive_room_engines">
   <computerGlow x="5" y="1" dir="UP"/>
</roomLayout>

<roomLayout name="sixfortyfive_room_weapons">
   <computerGlow x="54" y="7" dir="RIGHT"/>
</roomLayout>


The piloting and shield rooms on this ship use standard, unmodified room layouts, and as such, their computer terminals glow properly. Even if I edit those two particular room layouts in this append file (say, by moving the position of the glow effect), those changes get applied and displayed correctly.

However, I haven't figured out a way to get the glow effect to appear for these new room layouts. I've tried specifying the default image set name (name = "glow") in the computerGlow tag. I've tried duplicating the default glow image set and implementing that through Superliminal. No changes seem to take hold, though.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests