[Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal [NOT UPDATED TO AE]

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
dalolorn
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:06 am
Location: R.S. Dominator

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby dalolorn » Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:51 pm

kartoFlane wrote:
dalolorn wrote:I'm going to point out that FTL wouldn't crash if its room indexing had holes unless you tried to shut down a repair drone that had attempted to travel between rooms. There may be a few other instances that I do not know about, but my own indexing errors didn't crash inside the hangar.

Yeah, guess I got so used to fixing crash-causing bugs that I wrote that out of custom

dalolorn wrote:P.S. Next time, warn me you're going to update... this is the 2nd update I've downloaded today. :lol:

Can't really give you a heads up if I myself do not possess that knowledge :P I mostly push out the updates as they're needed / when I'm done with a feature and don't have anything else on my todo list

dalolorn wrote:Edit: By the way, you wouldn't happen to know as to why Chrome insists that both updates are viruses? I scan them with my own AV afterwards, and the two disagree considerably. :|

No idea why Chrome is acting that way, but it was reported earlier, too. Anyhow, I'd trust a full-fledged AV software more than a browser.

dalolorn wrote:I quickly received the following crash.log file while editing the Dominator:

Undo/redo is going to be the death of me.
This will happen if you have no object selected and try to nudge. It's easily fixed, though.

@ApexMods
I considered that, but with the way the editor works internally, it probably won't be easy to implement that. I don't really see a need for this, either, since doors are linked automatically on export, as long as they haven't been linked manually.
Though right now doors store their link in the form of an int, which will break if the rooms' IDs are reorganized -- I'll have to change that to be an object reference to room instead...

dalolorn wrote:IDs of the rooms and weapon mounts within the editor without deleting them

You can already edit IDs for mounts -- double click on one with the Selection Tool.


Ok, just wanted to make sure.

Meh, I should probably restrict myself to getting the updates that actually matter to me.

Yeah, I do. :P

It wasn't undo/redo, it was delete. Still probably results in the same thing.

Oh, didn't notice that.

kartoFlane wrote:Updated the release with a fix for the nudge crash. Also, doors now store their links in the form of object references -- will be less error prone.


So... doors won't partially act as airlocks anymore?
dalolorn
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:06 am
Location: R.S. Dominator

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby dalolorn » Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:56 pm

Also, there are TWO graphics that appear to be used for 0x0 rooms. One is rectangular, the other is square.

Possibly even three, but I haven't compressed the rooms in a form that would allow for that.
dalolorn
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:06 am
Location: R.S. Dominator

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby dalolorn » Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:00 pm

Um, it seems that the Dominator's weapon rooms all have the ID -2. Which is why the doors leading from the main hull to the weapon rooms act as airlocks, but the doors leading the other way around do not.

Obviously, I'm going to fix this manually, but... :?: :?: :?:
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby kartoFlane » Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:26 pm

0x0 rooms will be rectangular if the room is a 1x0 room, 0x2 room, etc.

ID = -2 is the "null" ID, and means the door will be linked automatically when you export the ship.
ID = -1 is airlock.
Anything >= 0 is proper room ID.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
dalolorn
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:06 am
Location: R.S. Dominator

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby dalolorn » Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:35 pm

kartoFlane wrote:0x0 rooms will be rectangular if the room is a 1x0 room, 0x2 room, etc.

ID = -2 is the "null" ID, and means the door will be linked automatically when you export the ship.
ID = -1 is airlock.
Anything >= 0 is proper room ID.


Oh, they're linked automatically... by being converted into partial airlocks.

I'm manually rooting these quasi-airlocks out in preparation for TFSB 0.2 with help from Superluminal to get the IDs right, as well as deciding on a nice position to place the Dominator's artillery system. I think I'm going to place it into the center of the left edge of the transporter room. :)
ApexMods
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 12:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby ApexMods » Fri Aug 30, 2013 5:35 am

Errm, hate to be the bearer of bad news again, but the updated release (13-08-29, the one that changed the door indexing) now messes up room IDs even when I don't change anything and just export a freshly loaded ship. It seems all room IDs get changed arbitrarily and ALL doors subsequently connect wrong rooms. Again, this happens without any manual editing to a ship and can be reproduced by simply loading and exporting a ship.
XxLOLdudexX
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:52 am

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby XxLOLdudexX » Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:56 am

I have a question about the .zip file.
I downloaded it and Chrome identified it as malicious. I did place it on my desktop and scanned it with AVG but it found nothing. Is this just an error in Chrome?
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby kartoFlane » Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:00 am

@ApexMods
Huh. I've just tested this and it seems to be working correctly... I loaded a default ship using File > Load Ship.
Though now that I think about it I might've missed an important function call in other types of loading... Namely loading from a project.

@XxLOLdudexX
It's been reported several times now. No idea why it happens, likely Chrome had some bad experiences with Dropbox, or is by default suspicious when downloading any executable files.
Poked a bit around Google and found something about this
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
dalolorn
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:06 am
Location: R.S. Dominator

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby dalolorn » Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:41 am

Oh, that reminds me - when loading ships from an .ftl, it doesn't ask you which one you want to load.
Tassyr
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:53 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby Tassyr » Sun Sep 01, 2013 6:50 am

Okay, help. I managed to get this thing to load the ship without totally imploding- but now the ship room interiors are actually the 'glow' images. I set them correctly in the editor- but why is it eating itself now?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests