[Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal [NOT UPDATED TO AE]

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
Tassyr
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:53 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-20

Postby Tassyr » Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:20 am

I got around using them. Last question- what should go in the 'layout' and 'image' tabs in ship info? I've no idea what to put there...
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-20

Postby kartoFlane » Sat Aug 24, 2013 10:41 am

"Layout" is the name of the shipname.txt and shipname.xml files that your ship is going to use. "Image" is exactly the same, but for images.

Just put a simplified name of your ship there -- the Kestrel, for example, has "kestral" in both fields, the Torus has "circle_cruiser", etc...
The preferable naming convention here is to use simple lowercase characters, digits, and replacing spaces with underscores _ .
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
UltraMantis
Posts: 2141
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:17 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-20

Postby UltraMantis » Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:35 am

Give it a unique name that is unlikely to be used by someone else. That also helps avoid conflicting names when trying to use multiple mods.
Report spam using the handy Report Button Mod.
Tassyr
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:53 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-20

Postby Tassyr » Sun Aug 25, 2013 2:22 am

Erm, help- something broke. What'd I do wrong?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gd696pux07as310/WTF.png

And hitting "Z" Crashes it...

[edit; yes I know it's OP for starting, that was just to test what works. I was going to pare down the weapons after.]
User avatar
5thHorseman
Posts: 1669
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:29 am
Location: On the bridge of The Potential
Contact:

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-20

Postby 5thHorseman » Sun Aug 25, 2013 5:55 am

Tassyr wrote:Erm, help- something broke. What'd I do wrong?


Does it look OK in SuperLuminal? I had the same problem with an edited version of my Asteroid mod and I never figured out what was causing it. It was weird, everything looked fine so long as I didn't delete or create any rooms. I could move rooms around and resize them all I wanted and it worked fine, but if I deleted a room or created one, this would happen.

I ended up working my design around the challenge, and my new Asteroid 2 ship has one more room than my original plan had for it, and the same number of rooms as the original Asteroid.
My Videos - MY MOD HUB
Simo-V - The Potential - Automated Scout - "Low O2" Icons
The Black Opal - The Asteroid - The Enforcer - The Pyro

"Every silver lining has a cloud..."
Tassyr
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:53 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-20

Postby Tassyr » Sun Aug 25, 2013 8:48 am

Yeah it loads PERFECTLY FINE. I have no idea what's going on here :( I managed to save and export a second copy, but it's forced down and right so far now that you can't really see it :(
Xorte-Renshe
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-20

Postby Xorte-Renshe » Sun Aug 25, 2013 9:18 am

Okie dokie, so I've finally made my mod (and the txt/xml files are perfect)! It worked perfectly in game (well, apart from the weapons still being visible. I tried to hide them under the ship, but meh, it still looks fine.)
Cool.
User avatar
5thHorseman
Posts: 1669
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:29 am
Location: On the bridge of The Potential
Contact:

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-20

Postby 5thHorseman » Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:21 pm

Tassyr wrote:Erm, help- something broke. What'd I do wrong?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gd696pux07as310/WTF.png


Based on the discussions elsewhere about null rooms on ships causing problems I looked at my old files with new eyes, and found the problem. It seems to be a bug in SuperLuminal. I don't know all of the occasions where this will happen so here's what happened to me:

  • Have a mod that works fine. For me it was Asteroid.ftl from this very site :)
  • Import the FTL file into SuperLuminal
  • Delete a room. It cannot be the last room you added. For me it was room 9 out of 18 rooms.
  • Export that file as an FTL file
  • Use Modman.exe to load that FTL file, see that the hull image is skewed like yours is.
  • Load back into SuperLuminal, see that the hull looks okay.

To actually fix the problem, I investigated the two FTL files and found that the room I had deleted was room 9. The old FTL file has this room. The new one jumps from room 8 to room 10.

I edited the ship's TXT file (where it lists rooms and doors) to change the room number of room 18 to room 9. I then changed all references to room 18 in the doors to 9. I then moved the data for room 9 from the end of the rooms list to between rooms 8 and 10. Finally, I went into the blueprints.xml and made sure there were no references to room 18 there. It was just a hallway so there were not.

I manually zipped up this FTL file again and loaded it, and bammo, everything's fine.

From what I can tell, because room 9 is not referenced in the FTL file the game creates its own room 9 in the upper lefthand corner, and then the rest of the ship (hull, floor, shields, etc) is skewed to this new center.

kartoFlane, let me know if you need more info. I also have 3 FTL files in various states:
  • Working FTL with extra room I want to delete set to "artillery" so I can find the room number.
  • With that room deleted and the problem occurring
  • With the problem fixed manually

I'll happily upload all 3 of those your download if you need me to.
My Videos - MY MOD HUB
Simo-V - The Potential - Automated Scout - "Low O2" Icons
The Black Opal - The Asteroid - The Enforcer - The Pyro

"Every silver lining has a cloud..."
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-20

Postby kartoFlane » Sun Aug 25, 2013 7:59 pm

Thanks for the reports -- I've encountered the issue several days ago, too.

5thHorseman wrote:From what I can tell, because room 9 is not referenced in the FTL file the game creates its own room 9 in the upper lefthand corner, and then the rest of the ship (hull, floor, shields, etc) is skewed to this new center.

AFAIR, FTL doesn't mind if the room 9 is missing... I don't think the game creates a room to fit, either, though it is possible.
More likely, it's the undo/redo functionality interfering with other parts of the editor in an unexpected way, causing the hull image's offset to be computed wrong.

5thHorseman wrote:kartoFlane, let me know if you need more info. I also have 3 FTL files in various states

That'd be great - I have yet to determine the cause of the bug, those files would be very useful.

@Tassyr
Apart from what Horseman said, try reloading the hull image in the editor and exporting the ship again -- just click on the Hull button and select the image, adjust its position as necessary.
I'm not exactly sure if it'll help in this case, but it did fix a similar problem some time ago.

What do you mean by "hitting 'Z' crashes it", though? Editor or game?
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
5thHorseman
Posts: 1669
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:29 am
Location: On the bridge of The Potential
Contact:

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-20

Postby 5thHorseman » Sun Aug 25, 2013 10:44 pm

http://pulpaudio.com/ftl/room9.zip

Note that "Asteroid_3" shows up in the game as "asteroid_2" because I didn't bother changing the name and layout. Also all 3 replace the Kestrel so you have to load them individually to see them in the game.

kartoFlane wrote:AFAIR, FTL doesn't mind if the room 9 is missing... I don't think the game creates a room to fit, either, though it is possible.
More likely, it's the undo/redo functionality interfering with other parts of the editor in an unexpected way, causing the hull image's offset to be computed wrong.


I can't see how it could be any other way. The ONLY difference between Asteroid_2 and Asteroid_3 is the asteroid_2.txt file and the only difference between those files is that room 18 is changed to room 9, and 3 doors that said they connected to room 18 now say they connect to room 9. 18 isn't referenced in the xml files because it's a hallway.

I did not load asteroid_3.ftl into SuperLuminal before loading it into FTL to see that it was fine. That text file edit was all that was needed.
My Videos - MY MOD HUB
Simo-V - The Potential - Automated Scout - "Low O2" Icons
The Black Opal - The Asteroid - The Enforcer - The Pyro

"Every silver lining has a cloud..."

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests